Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Eddowes Photograph

Hi All,

Could someone please tell me the provenance of this Eddowes photograph?

Click image for larger version

Name:	normal_eddowes3.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	25.2 KB
ID:	669827

Many thanks.

Regards,

Simon
    Never believe anything until it has been officially denied.

Photograph

Originally posted by Simon Wood View Post
    Hi All,
    Could someone please tell me the provenance of this Eddowes photograph?
    [ATTACH]7723[/ATTACH]
    Many thanks.
    Regards,
    Simon
    The photograph was first published by Farson in 1972. As a knowledgeable Ripper researcher, working backwards, that should tell you its origin.
    SPE

Treat me gently I'm a newbie.

Comment

Hi Simon,

A while ago there was a long discussion about an enhanced photograph of Catherine Eddowes. In that thread someone asked the same question as you do and someone posted a picture of the original file with the photographs attached. Perhaps you can find them.

Greetings,

Addy

Comment

I have seen another mortuary picture of Catherine Eddowes and it looks as if she has been photographed propped up against a wall, is this so and why would this be done?
        Thanks Looby

Comment

Hi,

yes, at one point she was photographed, as some say, with her hair attached to the wall to keep her up. Probably because that way they could photograph her in a more natural position (my opinion ), after all the equipment back then wasn't easy to move.

Greetings,

Addy

Comment

Originally posted by Stewart P Evans View Post
            The photograph was first published by Farson in 1972. As a knowledgeable Ripper researcher, working backwards, that should tell you its origin.
            Hello Stewart,