Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Paris Torso Mystery

Hello,

Even though I have been browsing this forum with interest for several years, I only registered two weeks ago, and I have contented myself with intervening sparingly.
    However, I'm taking the plunge to create a topic on the theme of the "torso murder" in Paris, which has been mentioned here and there on the forum but has never, unless I'm mistaken, been the subject of a separate thread.
    As a Frenchman (no one's perfect) living in the Paris region, I have been interested in the torso of Paris, also referred to in the French press of the time as the "mystery of Montrouge," for several years now.
    I allow myself to share below some information that might, who knows, interest a few members of this forum.

Note that in the following years, newspapers established a connection between the Montrouge crime in 1886, the torso murders in London (1887-1889), the crimes of Jack the Ripper (there was often confusion between Thames torso murders and JtR’s crimes) and another Parisian torso mystery that occurred on October 30, 1892. For those interested, I briefly mentioned this crime from October 30, 1892, on this forum (here) a few days ago.

P.S.: Sorry me for my poor English.
    “There had been a madness of murder in the air. Some red star had come too close to the earth…”
    Oscar Wilde, The Portrait of Dorian Gray

The "Petit-Montrouge" neighborhood is the 55th administrative district of Paris, located in the 14th arrondissement. It was created in 1860 when a part of the municipality of Montrouge was annexed by Paris. Montrouge was originally divided into two distinct sectors, the Grand-Montrouge – corresponding to the current municipality of Montrouge – and the Petit-Montrouge, which was "absorbed" by Paris in 1860 and became a full-fledged district.