He Must Have Done Something Before

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• He Must Have Done Something Before

Hi All, newbie here but have been following for a while, enjoying the Cross/Lechmere debate & just thinking -in terms of absolutes there's very little we agree on, except - regardless of what you believe about who, what, when etc, JTR MUST have committed some sort of more trivial crime before the murders, and so he must appear in the record somewhere, no?

Any ideas where to start looking; arson, mugging, threatening behaviour, garrotting, cruelty to animals, wife beating?
    Regards, Jon S.

Comment

G'day leftkidney

Originally posted by leftkidney View Post
      Hi All, newbie here but have been following for a while, enjoying the Cross/Lechmere debate & just thinking -in terms of absolutes there's very little we agree on, except - regardless of what you believe about who, what, when etc, JTR MUST have committed some sort of more trivial crime before the murders, and so he must appear in the record somewhere, no?
      Unless there was some precipitating event you are probably correct that there were other offences.

But they may simply not have come to the attention of the authorities and thus never recorded, one that springs to mind would be slapping the wife around, or killing animals, probably in 1880's not even reported let alone recorded. So he will only appear in a record if he was dealt with for the offence.
      G U T

There are two ways to be fooled, one is to believe what isn't true, the other is to refuse to believe that which is true.

Comment

And lots of minor offence records are no longer available.

Comment

The world is full of bad people with no police records. The world is full of people who SHOULD have a police record but got away with what they did. This snippet is from the net: