• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Judge Refuses to Grant Straight Couple a Divorce Because of Gay Marriage

c.d.

I'm no expert in US Law.

But I think he has a point.

If the Supreme Court overturned the part of the Constitution that defines marriage, what is the impact on the part of the same constitution when it defines the grounds for divorce.

Interesting.
    G U T

There are two ways to be fooled, one is to believe what isn't true, the other is to refuse to believe that which is true.

Comment

Ceding marriage powers to the Federals may be the best way to go.
      G U T

There are two ways to be fooled, one is to believe what isn't true, the other is to refuse to believe that which is true.

Comment

Originally posted by GUT View Post
        I'm no expert in US Law.

But I think he has a point.

If the Supreme Court overturned the part of the Constitution that defines marriage, what is the impact on the part of the same constitution when it defines the grounds for divorce.

Interesting.
        No. There is no "part of the constitution that defines marriage." There are, however, parts of the constitution that have been interpreted, or amended to define discrimination, and have established a concept of "protected classes." Anyway, it is now considered discrimination to say that a man can marry a woman, but a woman can't, or that a woman can marry a man, but a man can't. At least that's how I understand the argument. I could be wrong. But it's irrelevant to my next point.

The constitution very clearly says that powers not specifically that of the Federal government belong to the state. The Federal government has not actually defined (or redefined) marriage, but simply clarified the rules of non-discrimination. And even if the Federal gov't had defined marriage, as long as it had not said "And we'll be back soon with the definition of divorce," that still belongs to the states.