Misc. Tumblety Articles From Contemporary Medical Journals

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Misc. Tumblety Articles From Contemporary Medical Journals

I have a number of short articles relating to Dr. Tumblety that for the sake of simplicity I'm going to group together on one thread.
    The articles span 20 years or so, and virtually all of them come from contemporary medical journals. Many discuss Tumblety as a 'quack' and a nuisance to genuine physicians; some of the later articles refer to his 1888 London arrest and the Whitechapel murders.

As far as I can tell these particular articles have not been posted on Casebook before, but if they have, my apologies...
    I sincerely hope it won't kill anybody to see them again.
    I'm not a Tumblety expert and I'm not making any claims of exclusivity; in fact, just the opposite.

> Please note that all of these articles come from Public Domain sources which are available to everyone
    through their local Public Libraries, University Libraries, and via archived Internet collections.

Anyone can find them with a little patience. All of the resources that I used were completely free.
    Unlike newspapers, only a small percentage of the old medical journals have ever been digitized, so who knows
    what gems are lurking in the dusty volumes held in storage at your local library?

If others wish to contribute articles etc to this thread they are very welcome to do so.

Thanks and best regards, Archaic

This first article is from The Western Druggist, December 1888:
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Archaic; 01-05-2010, 12:04 AM.

gems

Hello Archaic. Nice find!

"what gems are lurking in the dusty volumes held in storage at your local library?"

Indeed!

The best.
    LC

Comment

1881 Tumblety Article re: 'Picking A Pocket' -Medical & Surgical Reporter

This is from the April 9, 1881 edition of The Medical and Surgical Reporter.

Does anybody know about the incident it refers to?