Was Sickert 'Nemo'?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Was Sickert 'Nemo'?

The word 'nemo' is Latin for 'no one'. It appears to have been a popular pen name for letter writers in Victorian days, particulary when writing to newspapers. There are a few Jack the Ripper related letters that are signed 'Nemo' as well as a few to newspapers.

In her book Patricia Cornwell points out that Walter Sickert's stage name was 'Mr. Nemo' and she is convinced that Ripper-related correspondence bearing that pseudonym is the work of Walter Sickert. This is discussed at length in her book and I should be interested to hear the views of others on this aspect.
    SPE

Treat me gently I'm a newbie.

Without a doubt, Stewart, Walter Sickert did indeed write letters under the pen name of 'Nemo', they are scattered through 'The Times'; but are always associated with the National Liberal cause, Mr. Gladstone, and the parlous situation in Norther Ireland. It appears that Sickert enjoyed a fond and useful relationship with the Liberals, and Mr Gladstone in particular, where he was able to sell his art to them.
    Personally I couldn't see a man like Sickert writing spoof letters as Jack the Ripper, or even Nemo, in any other connection but a political one.
    But hey what do I know?

Comment

Real simple, if the Nemo letters are in Sickert's handwriting, then we can attribute those to him and he's still not Jack the Ripper. If they're not in his handwriting then he didn't write them and he's still not Jack the Ripper. Writing Ripper letters was in itself a passtime for a couple of years. We know a ton were written, and therefore many people were 'Ripper writers'. We can even name a few with certainty. Why such a big fuss is being made over one man who at worst had some fun writing letters and at best had absolutely nothing to do with Ripper Mania doesn't make sense to me.

Yours truly,

Tom Wescott

Comment

Stewart,