Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why on earth is Maybrick the most popular suspect on this site???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why on earth is Maybrick the most popular suspect on this site???

Considering this site claims to be the authority on the Ripper murders, it's frankly laughable that people visiting here should vote Maybrick as the No 1 candidate for the Whitechapel Murders. I don't know if it's just random people stumbling upon the site with little knowledge of the case who've voted for him, or Ripperologists who think its ironic. In any case I think the current suspect voting system should be scrapped and only be made available to people who are registered. Also the list of candidates should be updated too. Yes I'm a newbie, but I can tell **** from shinola. And a flaccid joke that's more than out stayed its welcome.

Maybrick as Ripper?
    Me?
    For the memory of my sweet, ambereyed and animal-loving mother (1932-2007). Be happy in Heaven.

Comment

I think the results of that poll are old to be honest. I would be willing to bet that many of the Maybrick proponents have had a change of faith in the last few years.

A lot of it has to do with the "novelty" factor. When Tumblety was first revealed as a suspect he was very high on the list for a few years. Then when more people actually did their own research about him as a suspect I think they too had a change of heart. After Cornwall's book Sickert shot up there for awhile. Then after "From Hell" the "Royal Conspiracy" theory shot up in the poll.

I think you're right that the results are laregely due to people who are new to the case voting. Plus if the person isn't registered they can vote as many times as they want. I agree that the poll should be held again and should be ONLY for registered users. I suspect the results would be vastly different.

Just my 2 cents.
      Jeff

Comment