Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clarification on the appearance of Miller's Court dust-bin and water pump

​Hi all!

I am a 3D environment artist for video games, currently re-creating Miller's Court in Unreal Engine 5. I've collected a tonne of reference images not only of the court itself but of other places in Whitechapel at the time, but a couple of things that I can't find solid reference for (photographic or artistic) is the 'brick-built dustbin' (https://www.casebook.org/dissertatio...erdossier.html) opposite MJK's window, and the water pump on the East wall. While I can find plenty of contemporary reference for Victorian courtyard water pumps, I was wondering if anybody here may know of any water pumps similar to the one in this artist's depiction (It is the only depiction I can find that includes the water pump) of Miller's Court? So far, I can't find any that look more than vaguely similar. As for the brick dustbin, I can find no photographs of Victorian dust/ash bins, nor any drawings or descriptions of what they looked like.

It's very likely that I'll just have to use second-hand reference for the water pump, and guess what a brick built ash bin may have looked like, but I thought I'd ask here in case any of you may have some sort of clue as to what these objects might actually have looked like in Miller's Court!

Many thanks,
    Rob

Attached Files

Originally posted by RobCooper View Post
    ​Hi all!