Sickert student

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sickert student

I am an art student in Hull about to complete my degree. I have always been intrigued by Walter Sickert. His life and the myths that surround it have informed much of the work I have done on my current course. I am currently making a stop motion animation exploring aspects of the Camden town murders and Sickert's subsequent paintings. I do not believe that he was Jack the Ripper but discovered something in one of the Camden paintings ( in mind of his mischievous nature and interest in the Ripper.) that caught my eye. If the painting What Shall we do for the Rent is turned upside down I believe that there are hints of a Jack the Ripper signature beginning with a large J at the join between the womans arm and breast. The curve of the breast being the curve of the J and the line of the arm being the horizontal top of the J. Again I want to stress that I do not think he is any way the Ripper and that in any other painting by a different artist this might seem like a coincidence. But in context with Sickert's known fascination with the case, his playful titling of paintings ...

Sickert student (cont)

.... the fact that the paintings are based on murder and the whole Cornwell thing I thought that there might be something in this? Probably best to view this in a decent Sickert book as the internet versions are not of decent quality. Just to clarify the signature starts with the J and runs horizontally under the woman's arm.
    Last edited by joesheehan; 05-17-2008, 02:26 PM. Reason: adding extra info

Comment

Attached Files
      Living the Dream!

Comment

Originally posted by joesheehan View Post