A question of time.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A question of time.

Although I am fairly new to these pages, I have been a student of all matters relating to JtR for many years. One difficulty I used to have, which many other people experience, is attempting to put important events into a usable time frame, for example the many confusing and conflicting incidents that allegedly took place around Berner Street at the time of the Stride murder, or the time scale of the events at Buck's Row. I look at the timing of events differently, because of a magazine article which I read some years ago.

The article was called something like "The way things were" and featured a re-print of an interview (from about 1895) with a fairly ordinary everyday man, but who was a sort of local "celebrity" in, I think, Stepney. He was well-known locally because of some success as an amateur sportsman, or something of the sort, but I don't remember much about his personal life, because it was his comments about "time" that grabbed my attention, and I remember those quite well.