Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1888 'Manual of Vigilance Law' (British, Full Text)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1888 'Manual of Vigilance Law' (British, Full Text)

Hello everyone.

I've come across a law book published in London in July, 1888, shortly before the Whitechapel Murders commenced. It was written by a lawyer named Wyndham A. Bewes, and published under the auspices of ‘The Office of the National Vigilance Association, London.’ It is as its title indicates, a contemporary British 'Manual of Vigilance Law'. I had never heard of it before, so I showed it to my friend Stewart Evans and asked if he had seen it. He told me he had not, so perhaps it will be new to others as well.

I think this legal manual will be of particular interest to those of you who research the Whitechapel Vigilance Committee. I studied Pre-Law in college, and I've always been curious as to the legal status and powers of the Mile End Vigilance Committee (to use its proper name- see, Monty? ) It’s surprised me that there isn't more available on the subject. A Citizens’ Vigilance Committee of local businessmen operating in the midst of London in 1888 must have been regulated by law, or else it would have been suppressed.

In 19th C. America, local 'Vigilance Committees' tended to engage in what we call ‘Vigilante Justice’, which sometimes resembled Mob Rule. The most famous 'Vigilante' groups in American history formed in San Francisco in the 1850's as a response to the massive increase in population, lawlessness, and violence brought about by the 1848 California Gold Rush. These Vigilance Committees were admired for dispensing ‘Frontier Justice’, which bypassed the legal system and resulted in a large number of public hangings of those identified as thieves and murderers.