Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What about the pimps?

Hello!

Did the Whitechapel prostitutes have pimps in 1888 especially the victims? What was their reaction to the murders? Did they start any actions tu hunt down the killer? Was any of the pimps ever suspected by the police?

Best regards,
    Frank

I'm no expert, this is just my understanding from what I've studied. Of course there were pimps, also known as "bully boys," and that was inevitable. But there were also a lot of freelancing prostitutes, which most if not all of the Ripper's victims seem to have been. A pimp named Billy portrayed in the 1988 "Jack the Ripper" miniseries starring Michael Caine was a completely fictional character. There has been speculation as to whether John McCarthy- Mary Kelly's landlord- was actually her pimp as well. I personally don't think so. There would have been many women operating on their own, as well as numerous pimps and gangs pressuring them to conform under threat of violence. Such was life in Whitechapel.

Comment

The canonical five were not professional prostitutes, that is they were were not full time, did no operate from brothels, and in steady relationships.Mary who had been a full time prostitute,stopped when in a relationship and went back when Joe left.
      These women were alcoholics, or drank to relieve the dreariness of their lives, Occasional prostitution paid for their drink or bed for the night.These women were at at the bottom of the pile and had perversely had more freedom to drink, whore or sleep when they liked, unlike their worn out but virtuous sisters slaving in sweatshops or factories.Also they were not servicing twenty or thirty men a day in a brothel. The fourpenny pittence they earned from a shag covered their drink or bed but would not keep a pimp. No pimp would tolerate such lazy habits.
      West End girls charged between 5 and 10 shillings.Upmarket brothels could get much more.