Geographic Profile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Geographic Profile

I am by no means a ripperologist. But as we all know: all roads lead back to Jack the Ripper if you study serial killers. And I study serial killers.

More specifically, I am a geographic profiling researcher. One of my goals is to make it easy for law enforcement to use geographic profiling in their investigations. So I created a new geographic profiling software system aimed at that goal and established its accuracy as a part of my MA. in forensic psychology. I also train law enforcement in the practice and work the occasional case.

The other day I came up with the idea of creating geographic profiles of infamous series to serve as educational case studies designed to communicate important concepts to investigators who are learning to use geographic profiling in their cases. Of course, Jack the Ripper is the first series I thought of.

I consider this site the foremost authority on the subject. I've also seen a few types of geographic profiles floating around the forum. So while the case notes are written mostly for investigators, I thought some of you might find them interesting. If not, perhaps some of you would find the geographic profile itself, as analyzed by my system, interesting or helpful in some way.

Disclaimer: As I mentioned before, I am not nearly as knowledgeable about the case as all of you, so please feel free to correct any inaccuracies in my case notes.

A couple of notes about the geographic profile:
    • I used the five canonical victims in the profile. If there is enough interest, I would be more than happy to run some alternate scenarios and post them here.
    • The probability map is overlaid a modern street map. However, I can, with a little effort, replace the modern map with a street map from the period.