Book Collecting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Book Collecting

Many Ripper aficionados are also bibliophiles. It was mainly my interest in the subject of Jack the Ripper that led me into the collecting of non-fiction crime books. Early inspirations for me in this this collecting were provided by the great crime historians Richard Whittington-Egan, Jonathan Goodman and Colin Wilson. I was reminded of this recently when I discovered some photographs that I took when I first visited the late Jonathan Goodman many years ago. Below is a shot of the bookcase that contained his collection of Ripper books and ephemera - but what is in that large red box, lying on top of the books, with a black label with gilt lettering 'Jack the Ripper'? I don't recall looking a minor mystery indeed.

Click image for larger version

Name:	books1.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	203.9 KB
ID:	669289
    SPE

Treat me gently I'm a newbie.

The Red Box

The red box labelled 'Jack the Ripper' -

Name:	boxjtr.jpg
Size:	42.5 KB
ID:	654794
    SPE

Comment

No idea - but it looks very much related to the green box on the shelf under it, does it not? But I canīt read what it says on that one!

The best!
      Fisherman

Comment

The Green Box

Originally posted by Fisherman View Post
        No idea - but it looks very much related to the green box on the shelf under it, does it not? But I canīt read what it says on that one!
        The best!
        Fisherman
        The green box is on top of the Sherlock Holmes books and the label reads 'Holmesian Ephemera' -

Name:	boxholmesian.jpg
Size:	43.9 KB
ID:	654795

From this may we assume that the red box contains 'Ripperian Ephemera'?
        SPE

Comment

Hmmm... On the net, there is something called "Holmesian Ephemera" published in the beginning of the seventies by "New English Library" And, as it happens, it seems that the "New English Library" has published something called "Jack the Ripper" at the approximate same time.