Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "Dark" Annie

Hello All,

Given the (possibly) veiled racist remarks on Annie`s appearance, (her "broad nose" and "very fine teeth"), and her nickname of "Dark Annie", could her illness have been sickle cell anemia? I am no expert on this disease, but as far as I can see this can affect the lungs and brain. Previously I have assumed that she was suffering from tuberculosis but there were sanitoriums for those suffering from tb and presumably the risk of passing on the disease was known at the time, so the hospital would have had other options than just releasing her with some pills. It would be interesting to know just what was in her pills. She does appear to have been unsteady on her feet, leading people to think she was drunk, even though there was no alchohol found in her stomach (and presumably no smell of alchohol either) and to have been very tired, both indications perhaps of sickle cell anemia. This was not recognised until the beginning of the twentieth century, so could well have been misdiagnosed.

Best wishes,
    C4

P.S. Before anyone mentions her blue eyes - it is quite possible for people of mixed heritage to have blue eyes.

Hi C4

I'm afraid with the best will in the world, I can't see that the mention of either a broad nose or very fine teeth constitutes in any way a veiled racist comment.

I think the "broad nose" is simply fair description of a facial feature, whilst the "very fine teeth" is merely a slight expression of surprise at how good the condition of her teeth actually was.

To put no too fine a point on it, many (if not most) long-term denizens of Whitechapel/Wapping would've had rotten teeth, largely owing to childhood calcium deficiency, malnutrition and lack of affordablle hygiene. I suspect Annie's teeth were better than most because her background and earlier life were better...