The Murder of Elizabeth Stride

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Murder of Elizabeth Stride

'There is not a shred of evidence to support the belief that Elizabeth Stride was murdered by the Ripper...The murder of Stride was a coincidence and, merely because her body was found in a yard, both Press and public jumped to the conclusion that both this murder and that of Eddows...was the work of the Ripper.' (William Stewart, 1939).
    SPE

Treat me gently I'm a newbie.

Hi Stewart

Great find - thanks for posting it - and while I certainly appreciate it, get ready for it to be jumped all over by - well, by quite a few people.

Tj
    It's not about what you know....it's about what you can find out

Comment

Nah, I've always had my doubts about Stride being a ripper victim.

Comment

thanks

Hello Mr. Evans. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for posting this. (I think I may love you--heh-heh.)

Although it is obvious that this is that gentleman's opinion and hence not authoritative, yet it neatly sums up my thoughts about the "Double Event."

Cheers.
        LC

Comment

Mr. Stewart also thought the murderer of the other women was a woman and that Mary Kelly was pregnant.

Of course, the murderer of any of these women is unknown and it is all theorizing - either way - but, Stride and Eddowes being of the same class, killed on the same night in the same proximity by the same method with no discernable motive established does amount to at least a shread of evidence that the same person might have perpetrated both.

There is evidence, just no conclusive evidence, so the possibility of 2 separate killings remains also.
          Best Wishes,
          Hunter

When evidence is not to be had, theories abound. Even the most plausible of them do not carry conviction- London Times Nov. 10.1888

Comment

Not Exactly