Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to casebook-My .2

This is my first post.
    It is not a dissertation nor is it meant in any way to be a substantive solution to the case of "Jack The Ripper".
    I'm not an expert, but I have a curious interest in the case. I have some questions and also some observations.
    Please forgive any mistakes, but don't hesitate to politely correct me about them.

I can't get behind all of those who think of the Whitechapel Murderer as some "phantom being" getting his kicks doing in prostitutes because I have to say that I believe that to be extremely unlikely.
    Plenty of killers over the last century have murdered prostitutes and the homeless. Why? Because they were easy pickings. They are not so fearful of strangers and desperation makes them easy to coerce.
    A look into murders in the 19th century you will mostly find domestic cases and the unfortunates.

What made this killer so newsworthy? What if the killings had stopped after Chapman and Nichols even though they were so horribly butchered?
    Two similar murders within a span of eight days and then nothing for more than two weeks wouldn't seem to cause undue concern.
    You would think with people being investigated and some locked up and no further murders that panic would subside.
    Then a creepy letter gets sent.

Before I go on and on about things you already know maybe I should just throw this out there. This is purely hypothetical.
    What if the elusive Mary Kelly was the key?
    All we know about her is hearsay. There is no definitive way of knowing if the body in that room was her. I'm not saying she's a killer, I'm just saying if for some reason she wanted to disappear she had the perfect opportunity.
    Sending letters proclaiming to be the killer of some recently murdered prostitutes and promising more puts the heat back on the murderer of the first two women.