Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

My JTR book - a humble request for support :)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My JTR book - a humble request for support :)

So I've gone and done it...I'm currently writing my own Jack book, which I will self-publish with Amazon upon completion. Trying to keep it as close to the evidence as possible, trying to bust myths, avoid "Hollywood" theories, trying to wade through the mess (the whole Kosminski business gave me a headache but I think I have it all figured out), and I'm trying most of all to humanise the victims.

But I have one pressing matter that I particularly would like some help with...

Pictures!

I'm obviously wishing to put in plenty of photos, diagrams, etc., but I'm a novice at this and I'm worried about copyright issues. Assuming most, or all, of the photos I wish to use are public domain by now, but I want to be sure, and with self-publishing I need to cross my t's and dot my i's.

Can anyone help please

Hello, Dark Passenger.

Your friendly librarian (me) reminds you that Copyright Law varies from country to country, so you may want to consider if you are publishing in the U.K. or in the U.S.A.

Next, there are no photos, I'm told, of the canonical victims when they were alive-- this includes the purported photo of Elizabeth Stride recently seen on a TV documentary, which is of another person with no relationship to the Ripper murders. Does anyone know if the photo of Annie Chapman and her husband is geninue?

There are some police mortuary photos of some victims, as well as the famous photo of Mary Kelly's body on her bed which we have all seen many times. I am not sure who has the right to these photographs, which were taken for police evidence.

Newspapers may be a good source for sketches of the witnesses, policemen, and the scenes of the crimes (but beware of artistic license!)