Dorset Street

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dorset Street

i'm rather new to the ripper case,but after reading over briefly the main details,it occured to me,that after the murder of eddowes,police found blood in a sink of dorset street where the killer had paused to wash his hands,and presumably he was heading back to an area he was comfortable in and quite probably lived in..didn't barnett reside in dorset street or close by at that time?

Welcome, Allan. Yes, at the time of the Eddowes murder Barnett was living in Miller's Court, Dorset Street, with MJK. But, as to the "bloody water in the sink" story, so far as I know the only source for that is Major Henry Smith's autobiography, From Constable to Commissioner (1910), and just about everyone agrees that Smith's recollections have to be taken with a very large grain of salt.
    Last edited by The Grave Maurice; 03-03-2008, 07:08 AM.

Comment

Hi Guys,
      The 'Take it with a pinch of salt phrase' is used a lot on Casebook,
      We tend to cast aside officials of that period such as Major Henry smith, Walter Dew, and Inspector Abberline as nothing more then morons.
      Which is perplexing , at least to me.
      Walter Dew was not present at Millers court say some, even though he claims to have been
      Abberline is not worthy of his rank, as fancy being taken in by Hutchinson and Mrs Maxwell.
      Now as for Major Smith, he obviously could not have seen a bloody sink in Dorset street shortly after the Eddowes murder.
      As it has quite rightly been pointed out in the past the reference to a Bloody sink was in fact a reference to events of the 9th November when 'The fiend had the audacity to wash his hands in a public sink just yards from the pavement' [ not a exact quote] I arrived in time to see the blood still draining away.