Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6d. Did Liz spend it, or die for it?

Hello I am new to the Casebook Forum.
    I am wondering what the cost of a corsage would have been in London's lower East End in 1888? And, were such items sold in the lower East End at that time? The manifest of items found on Liz's body at the time of her death do not mention the 6d. that she had earned earlier that afternoon. There also does not seem to be any evidence that she spent it, as it seems that she was with a man most of the evening, according to witnesses that claim to have seen her throughout that evening. Which leads me to believe that she would not have any reason to spend her money on alcohol or other items such as a corsage or food.
    So, what happened to the 6.?

Sluggo.

Most canonical 5 victims were found without money on their person. It's theorized that the killer may have robbed them before or after the murder.

Comment

I am of the theory that Liz was not a Ripper victom. I believe that her murder was a robbery homicide.

Sluggo.

Comment

Originally posted by Sluggo View Post
        Hello I am new to the Casebook Forum.
        I am wondering what the cost of a corsage would have been in London's lower East End in 1888? And, were such items sold in the lower East End at that time? The manifest of items found on Liz's body at the time of her death do not mention the 6d. that she had earned earlier that afternoon. There also does not seem to be any evidence that she spent it, as it seems that she was with a man most of the evening, according to witnesses that claim to have seen her throughout that evening. Which leads me to believe that she would not have any reason to spend her money on alcohol or other items such as a corsage or food.
        So, what happened to the 6.?

Sluggo.
        I wonder when she got the large piece of green velvet. Perhaps with the money she had earned that day?

Comment

money

Hello Sluggo. Welcome to the boards.