X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PC William Arthur WHIFFIN H Division

William Arthur WHIFFIN

Born 23rd February 1872 Croydon Surrey

Joined 3rd September 1894 Warrant Number 79939.
    Height given as 5 foot 9 and a half inches.Chest 35 inches.
    With fair complexion dark brown eyes & brown hair. With a scar on his right cheek.

He was single and a labourer by trade (employed by JJ Ward Builders, Upper Warlingham. Home address The Cottage Warlingham.

Postings......
    K Division 3rd September 1894 Collar number 225K
    A Division 2nd February 1895 Collar number 343A
    K Division 6th July 1895 Collar Number unknown?
    H Division 11th April 1896 Collar Number 250H
    R Division 9th October 1903 Collar Number 676R
    Resigned 13th October 1919

Disciplinary Offence as 250H in Jan 1900 while he was serving in H Div.
    1901 census lists him as living in Stepney.

Curious how he served in K Division twice, with a brief spell in A in the middle, I wonder was he on secondment as apposed to a full transfer? Was something happening in A Division in 1895? I believe that only the most discreet officers were posted to A, I wonder was he posted and then didn't cut the mustard perhaps and was posted back?

In the 1901 census he is listed as living somewhere in Stepney, I had assumed that he was either in Arbour Square or Shadwell stations, but I am now wondering whether he was in fact still living at the same address he did whilst he was in K perhaps? Can anyone confirm his address for me in 1901?

A Disciplinary Offence as 250H occurred in Jan 1900 while he was serving in H Div. Has anyone got access to the Police Orders around 22/01/1900 to find exactly what he did wrong? I assume it can’t have been major otherwise he would have been moved to another division or even sacked.

Comment

He was at #4 Bewley St Model (presumably Dwellings), Shadwell. He's with his wife Emily and a niece.