British Judicial System

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• British Judicial System

More questions from America. I am reading, and thoroughly enjoying, the new book by Kate Summerscale, The Wicked Boy. In it, a barrister referred to someone in a judicial capacity as Your Worship. My question is: What rank does a person have to have to be called Your Worship? In films I have seen, barristers trying cases in the Old Bailey referred to the judge as My Lord. That brings my second question. Are any persons who are not members of the House of Lords eligible to be trial judges? I am an attorney and I have encountered many judges who consider themselves to be deities, but we don't refer to them as "Worship." Thanks for your insight.
    Last edited by Barrister; 06-26-2016, 08:19 AM. Reason: correcting grammar

It's the form of address to a magistrate.

Comment

Originally posted by Barrister View Post
      More questions from America. I am reading, and thoroughly enjoying, the new book by Kate Summerscale, The Wicked Boy. In it, a barrister referred to someone in a judicial capacity as Your Worship. My question is: What rank does a person have to have to be called Your Worship? In films I have seen, barristers trying cases in the Old Bailey referred to the judge as My Lord. That brings my second question. Are any persons who are not members of the House of Lords eligible to be trial judges? I am an attorney and I have encountered many judges who consider themselves to be deities, but we don't refer to them as "Worship." Thanks for your insight.
      Hello Barrister

Check out these web pages --