Aerial view of Mitre Square today?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aerial view of Mitre Square today?

Hello, I'm new to the Casebook. Since I live in Memphis, Tennessee, I was using Google Earth to view some of the JTR sites. Can somebody check out the aerial view of Mitre Square and tell me what I am seeing? (If you don't have Google Earth, Google Maps works almost as well.) The irregular outline of the original "square" as it's been depicted on old maps and diagrams seems to have survived, since it's visible from the air, but what is immediately east of it (right next to that blue car parked in the square itself)? Is that the roof of a building, or is that open space? In other words, what is now right next to what is usually called the "Jack the Ripper Corner" in the southeast corner? The image is just too dark to tell. If somebody familiar with this site can "walk" me around it, that would be much appreciated. I took a JTR tour some 15 years ago, but it was nighttime and though we visited Mitre Square I couldn't really tell what surrounded it. Many thanks, Michael

According to flashearth.com and maps.live.com there's a fence and a parking lot facing the blue car. To the southwest is the roof of a building. Hope that helps.
    "Now this is not the end. It is not even the beginning of the end. But it is, perhaps, the end of the beginning." Winston Churchill

Comment

Click image for larger version

Name:	mitre.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	33.9 KB
ID:	653280

1: Flower bed
      2: School yard / Parking (open space anyway) behind wall/fence (white line)
      3: Parking space behind low wall

see photos of today's Mitre Sq.

Hope this helps

Christian

Comment

These may help.

This is "Ripper corner" with the red area being where Catherine Eddowes was found. It is the work of Colin Roberts (Septic Blue).

Name:	Mitre sq murder spot.jpg
Size:	88.1 KB
ID:	653281