Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A bizarre theory of the MJK murder

Greetings

This is probably not a good way to introduce myself to this forum; I usually do not have such bizarre theories regarding the Whitechapel murders, but I have been kicking this around in my head for several months now and have no one to dump it on.

I have always had difficulty with the conventional wisdom regarding the Mary Jane Kelly murder. That the ‘ripper,’ adjusted to the heightened security around Whitechapel by choosing to move indoors, and once indoors was free (to spend time with his victim) to indulge his sick fantasy, taking it to the ultimate extreme. Then, once satisfied, his mind snapped, (or was rounded up on a non-related charge) and the murders ceased.

What has always bother me about this theory is twofold: first, the killer of Polly Nichols and Catherine Eddowes does not, to me, seem to be someone who is capable of interacting with a woman at any level let alone be able to lure one to a secluded location, especially when considering the prevailing temperament surrendering Whitechapel at the time. [I have always felt that the murderer was a disorganized marauder and opportunist.)

Second, if the ‘ripper’ could muster such a capability, to talk a prostitute, under those conditions, into going with him to a secluded location, it seems unlikely that he would choose such a young attractive victim. To me such a misogynist would have a difficult time dealing with any woman at any level, but to find himself in an attractive woman’s own apartment, in her own bed, dressed in seductive attire, seems to me, something impossible for him to endure.