Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

A Cross by any other name...smells like JtR?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A Cross by any other name...smells like JtR?

There seems to be a lot of discussion around the Nichols witness Charles Cross and why he gave that name. Is this suspicious? Is it not?

I thought that it may be a good idea to start a thread to discuss this topic and get much of what’s known on the table.

I am no expert on Cross. I’m sure Fisherman and Lechmere can contribute much more. Here is what I have on hand:

From this site: Born Charles Allen Lechmere in 1849, St Anne's, Soho, son of John Allen Lechmere and Maria Louisa (nee Roulson). In 1858, Charles' mother remarried, to Thomas Cross, a policeman and Charles took his surname.

The highest level facts of Charles Lechmere’s life are as follow:

o Birth: 1849 - Middlesex, England
    o Marriage: 3 Jul 1870 - London, England
    o Death: 23 Dec 1920 - London, England
    o Parents: John Allen Lechmere, Maria Louisa Roulson
    o Spouse: Elizabeth Bostock

Lechmere’s mother, Maria Louisa Roulson married Thomas Cross in 1858. Charles was – at this time – around nine years old. Thomas Cross – as best I can tell - died aged 39 in London, 1860 (?).

The 1881 census shows ‘Chas. Allen Lechmer’, a carman, aged 31, married to ‘Elizth. Lechmer’, living at 20 James St., London. There are four children aged 1 to 7 (“Eliz. Thom. Geo. Jas”).

What else do we have? What do I have wrong? What’s fishy? Where do we go from here?

Hi Patrick S.
    I love this game its full of magical coincidences, a couple could actually point to Lechmere's guilt.
    He was 39 years old.
    His Stepfather Thomas Cross died aged 39[ a policeman]
    The above will mean nothing to you Patrick, but 39 is significant once again..
    Regards Richard.

Comment

conundrum

Hello Patrick. Thanks for starting this thread.

In my humble opinion, there are only two issues of concern with the name conundrum.