The Lusk Letter - Swanson's Transcription

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Lusk Letter - Swanson's Transcription

In his report of 6th November 1888 Chief Inspector Donald Swanson transcribed the 'From hell' or 'Lusk Letter' and I don't recall that this transcription has been published before. So out of interest, here it is -

Click image for larger version

Name:	fhlswanson.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	128.3 KB
ID:	669205

HO 144/221/A49301C f 193
    SPE

Treat me gently I'm a newbie.

Hi Stewart,

Thanks for posting that. It seems that the ambiguity in the shapes of the letters in the Sir/Sor opening are present in this transcript as well. Comparing the end of that word to the "for" later in the message it doesn't look particularly like the last two letters are "or," but then the letter shapes of the I's, O's and R's here change throughout the message as well.

Dan Norder
    Ripper Notes: The International Journal for Ripper Studies
    Web site: www.RipperNotes.com - Email: dannorder@gmail.com

Comment

Fascinating - and a remarkably faithful copy too, the lack of jagged pen-strokes notwithstanding.
      Kind regards, Sam Flynn

"Suche Nullen" (Nietzsche, Götzendämmerung, 1888)

Comment

Originally posted by Dan Norder View Post
        Hi Stewart,

Thanks for posting that. It seems that the ambiguity in the shapes of the letters in the Sir/Sor opening are present in this transcript as well. Comparing the end of that word to the "for" later in the message it doesn't look particularly like the last two letters are "or," but then the letter shapes of the I's, O's and R's here change throughout the message as well.
        Hi Dan, yes, it is interesting and looks as if this transcription was written as an exact as possible copy of the original which must have been in front of the writer as he did it.
        SPE

Treat me gently I'm a newbie.

Comment

Writing similarity