Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Koz - No First Name in Marginalia

Hi, I’m a chaste newbie, so be nice!
    Just a thought, but with regards to the fact that Swanson didn’t provide Koz’s first name in his Marginalia…Perhaps he felt it unnecessary? In other words, perhaps Koz was such a well know suspect, and so well know to the police, that he deemed “Kosminski” to be sufficient? If indeed he was the “prime suspect”, this would seem logical. After all, when we talk about Elvis Presley, to sometimes simply say “Presley”, same with “Kennedy”, or “Lennon”? The first name can seem superfluous?
    Considering the swathes of paperwork including suspect dossiers that are missing/destroyed, it may not be implausible to consider that he was far more well known to the contemporary Peelers than he is to us?
    Just a thought….

Hi Carotid,

I guess it depends who he was writing for. If only for himself, he wouldn't have needed to include a forename, but if the information was only for himself, why write anything at all? Your point is an interesting one. Welcome to the boards!

Regards, Bridewell.
    I won't always agree but I'll try not to be disagreeable.

Comment

Hi!

If Kosminski was Aaron Mordke Kozminski:

His brothers, a sister (and a providing friend?) were:

Isaac Abrahams (birth name Iciek Kozminski)
      Woolf Abrahams (birth name Wolek Kozminski)
      Matilda Lubnowski (later Lubnowski- Cohen/ Cohen, birth name Malke Kozminski)
      Jacob Cohen

and probably a man called Jacobs (the incident with the dog in December 1889). If Jacobs had not been an alter ego of Aaron Kosminski (see also serialkiller William Heirens and his Alter Ego George Murman).

(Aaron) Abrahams? (Aaron) Cohen? (Aaron) Lubnowski? (Aaron) Jacobs?

Aaron Kozminski in December 1889:

“I goes by the name of Abrahams sometimes because Kosmunski is hard to spell..."

Imagine, December 1888:

Aaron Kozminski