Astrology and Ripperology

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Astrology and Ripperology

I've been looking at the astrological event charts for the murders. I'm no expert but they are very interesting. Need to study them a bit more first though, would be interesting to see how the natal charts of suspects connect to. Yes its unorthodox but even the cops employ psychics...

Astrology has been debunked rather definitively over the decades. Here is a nice thorough explanation:

But the bottom line is that at best, the gravity from the planets in our solar system is a tiny fraction of the Moon's. So if gravity were the force behind astrology, then the Moon would dominate all the planets combined. Yet it doesn't in any astrologer's horoscope.

Bad Astronomy
    Indeed, your computer exerts a greater gravitational influence on you.

No police psychic has actually solved a case. Many have tried to claim credit for wide guesses--"body . . . near a body of water . . . a tree"--after the fact. Many have retrofitted their wide predictions to later facts, ignoring all of their misses. No one seems to recall the colossal failures, such as all of the supposed psychics that declared the abducted girl in Utah dead . . . only to find her quite alive.

Perhaps the best statement on "police psychics" comes from Mark Klaas:

Psychic Detectives are the vanguard of a second wave of predators that also includes tabloid journalists, cheesy defense lawyers and photo-op politicians. They use tabloid newspapers and talk shows to boast about their accomplishments and predict success. They materialize whenever children are kidnapped and circle the cases like vultures on a fresh carcass.