Leather Apron and Julius Lipman

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Leather Apron and Julius Lipman

The Hampshire Telegraph and Naval Chronicle, Saturday October 20th 1900.

Not Jack the Ripper
    A man named Julius Lipman has just died in the East End of drink, neglect and starvation. He was a cobbler by trade, and was known as “Leather Apron.” He fell under the suspicion of being Jack the Ripper, and although he completely proved his innocence the stigma never quite left him, and his business dwindled away.
    Lipman was peculiarly unfortunate in the matter. “Leather Apron” as a possible Jack the Ripper was invented by an imaginative journalist on a sensational paper. He did not suspect for a moment that there was a real man in the district known by that name.
    Attached Files
    Regards Mike

Originally posted by Mike Covell View Post
    The Hampshire Telegraph and Naval Chronicle, Saturday October 20th 1900.

Not Jack the Ripper
    A man named Julius Lipman has just died in the East End of drink, neglect and starvation. He was a cobbler by trade, and was known as “Leather Apron.” He fell under the suspicion of being Jack the Ripper, and although he completely proved his innocence the stigma never quite left him, and his business dwindled away.
    Lipman was peculiarly unfortunate in the matter. “Leather Apron” as a possible Jack the Ripper was invented by an imaginative journalist on a sensational paper. He did not suspect for a moment that there was a real man in the district known by that name.
    Thats an interesting bit Mike and seems to corroborate Pizer when he stated that he had never heard of himself being called that by anyone, nor did his family ever hear that name being applied to him.

Its an article that suggests what Ive already assumed....Pizer wasnt Leather Apron.

Best regards Mike

Comment

Hello all,
      Well done Mike!!
      Dare I say this?... Lipman.. pretty near the word Lipski...what?

best wishes

Phil