Grapes?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grapes?

In the movie From Hell starring Johnny Depp as Abberline, Jack uses grapes to attract Eddowes. Is this an idea of the producers or is there really some evidence of grapes being used to attract the victims?
    For every man who says "It was him!" there will always be a man who says "You're wrong."

I've always wondered this too, does anyone have information on this?

Comment

None

Originally posted by JacknJill View Post
      In the movie From Hell starring Johnny Depp as Abberline, Jack uses grapes to attract Eddowes. Is this an idea of the producers or is there really some evidence of grapes being used to attract the victims?
      No, none whatsoever.
      SPE

Treat me gently I'm a newbie.

Comment

The grapes idea came largely from Stephen Knight's "JtR, The Final Solution" and therefore is included in virtually even reiteration of the Masonic Conspiracy theory.

So SPE is right, but it wasn't the producers of From Hell who came up with the idea, either.
        “Sans arme, sans violence et sans haine”

Comment

It is interesting that the police appear to have interviewed a man called Packer, who claimed to have sold grapes to a man shortly before Stride's body was found. Some accounts mention a grape stalk being found in Stride's hand (or nearby) when she was found and yet, as far as I know, no grapes were found in her stomache contents or if they were, it was not mentioned in the post-mortem notes. However, we ARE told what Kelly's last meal was. We may therefore conclude that either Packer lied, or the person he sold grapes to was not the murderer and accounts of grape stalks being found in Stride's hand were fanciful extrapolations eminating from the Matthew Packer story.

Comment