Ernest Crawford's Tale

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ernest Crawford's Tale

Despite the fact that the following letter has been in the public domain for over 12 years, it has received very little attention or analysis. It is a letter written by Ernest Crawford of Bath to George R. Sims in 1907. Anyone up for research/discussion?

Click image for larger version

Name:	anunknowntheory.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	147.1 KB
ID:	669367
    SPE

Treat me gently I'm a newbie.

One form of research might be to try and establish the name of the individual who was an editor of magazies,a reformist, an inventor,and a well known person all rolled into one.Could't have been too many.

Comment

Stead?

Originally posted by harry View Post
      One form of research might be to try and establish the name of the individual who was an editor of magazies,a reformist, an inventor,and a well known person all rolled into one.Could't have been too many.
      Thanks for that Harry, one suggestion was that it might fit Stead, but it's not known that he was an inventor.
      SPE

Comment

My thoughts were Stead or Stephenson, but neither were inventors.

Perhaps a list of inventors with the surname begining with S will help.
        Regards Mike

Comment

Hi Stewart

I would be interested in seeing the article by George Sims if you have it, or can point me to where I can find it.

The Jesuit centre if it existed could have been a school or college as they were known for their teaching/missionary work. There was a lot of prejudice against Jesuits which may account for the accusation.

Whenever I read of how a prostitute of the time would have serviced her clients - from behind, or against a wall while she lifted her skirts etc, I have never seen mention of the possibility of the offer of oral sex. Is there any reason for this?

No idea who Mr S. is but the "from behind" theory does remind me of RDS

Comment

George R Sims

Originally posted by Nemo View Post