Which should I buy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which should I buy?

Well, I'm just brand new in Ripperology, and I want a book to start ....And I'm doubtful: which book should I buy, Sugden's or Beggs's??? Thanks for the advice : )
    http://crimenesdewhitechapel.blogspot.com
    My usual nick is Irene Adler

Hi Morgana,

Welcome to the boards.

You can't go wrong with either book but my personal choice would be Sugden. Enjoy.

c.d.

Comment

Both are very good but, as I just said on another thread, Sugden is my boy. If I could own only one book on JtR, it would be his. Anyway, if I were you, I'd start with Sugden and then move on to all the others.

Comment

An alternative suggestion...

I can only echo what others have said - Sugden, in particular, is indispensable. However, if you want a no-nonsense introduction to the essentials of the case, please also consider Hutchinson & Clack's The London of Jack the Ripper: Then and Now. It doesn't supplant the Big Guns in this field, but it's honestly a cracking little book.

Where it might have the edge over Sugden, Begg et al is in its sense of place. You get a huge amount of photographs that show you just how downtrodden Jack's neighbourhood was - something that can only be guessed at by reading about it. This is an aspect of the case that's often overlooked, and the visuals really help in this regard.
        Kind regards, Sam Flynn

"Suche Nullen" (Nietzsche, Götzendämmerung, 1888)

Comment

If your new to Ripperology then I'd recommend Donald Rumbelow's 'The Complete Jack the Ripper' as the best place to start as it covers just about everything. Then I'd progress onto Sugdens and then 'The Ultimate Jack the Ripper Sourcebook' and 'Letters From Hell' both by Stewart Evans and Keith Skinner. Also 'Jack the Ripper, Scotland Yard Investigates' by Stewart Evans and Donald Rumbelow.