Swanson Family Tradition

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Swanson Family Tradition

I see that Nevill Swanson, Jim Swanson's son and Donald Swanson's great grandson, is continuing the family tradition of claiming that Donald Swanson solved the Ripper case.

Subsequent to an article in the Sunday Telegraph of 9 November 2008, about Cutbush as a possible Ripper, Nevill Swanson responded in the Editor's letters section of the Sunday Telegraph of 16 November 2008, wherein he states that "the identity was proved, beyond all reasonable doubt, at the time..." -

Click image for larger version

Name:	dtswanson.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	146.9 KB
ID:	669333
    SPE

Treat me gently I'm a newbie.

East London Advertiser,
    Latest news, sport, and things to do for East London and Tower Hamlets, Canary Wharf, Docklands, Bethnal Green and the surrounding London Borough of Tower Hamlets areas from the East London Advertiser.

Times Online,

Psychology in Action,

Letters to the Telegraph contained the following,

Letters to the Telegraph

16 November 2008

the Ripper

The article pointing the finger at Thomas Hayne Cutbush as being the Ripper reinforces a theory I have long held that there is an industry which would die were the identity of the Ripper ever to be proved.

However, the identity was proved, beyond all reasonable doubt, at the time. My great grandfather, Donald Sutherland Swanson, was the detective in total charge of the Ripper murders. His private papers contain his handwritten identification of Aaron Kosminski as the Ripper.

Along with others of his papers, I have loaned them to the Metropolitan Police Museum at new Scotland Yard, where researchers may be able to study them.

Nevill Swanson, Worcester
    Regards Mike

Comment

Originally posted by Mike Covell View Post
      [quoting Nevill Swanson] Along with others of his papers, I have loaned them to the Metropolitan Police Museum at new Scotland Yard, where researchers may be able to study them.