• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Old books' canonicals

Hi all,
    I'm curious about 3 old books I didn't read and don't have:

- Leonard Matters "The mystery of JTR", 1929;
    - FA Beaumont "Fiend of the East London" (from "The 50 most amazing crimes...", 1936)
    -William Stewart "JTR a new theory", 1939.

How many victims, according to these early studies?

Thanks

Both Matters and Beaumont suggested that the Ripper had six victims: Tabram and the "canonical" five. Sorry I can't help with the Stewart.

Wolf.

Comment

William Stewart

Originally posted by Wolf Vanderlinden View Post
      Both Matters and Beaumont suggested that the Ripper had six victims: Tabram and the "canonical" five. Sorry I can't help with the Stewart.
      Wolf.
      William Stewart went for only four victims - Nichols, Chapman, Eddowes and Kelly, he rejected Tabram and Stride.
      SPE

Treat me gently I'm a newbie.

Comment

Many thanks, gentlemen,
        that's precious info.
        The C5 concept is therefore relatively recent, though it is rooted in Swanson and Macnaghten opinions.
        Why did Stewart reject Stride? Did he suggest a suspect (Kidney?)?

Amitiés,
        David

Comment

Stride

Originally posted by DVV View Post
          Many thanks, gentlemen,
          that's precious info.
          The C5 concept is therefore relatively recent, though it is rooted in Swanson and Macnaghten opinions.
          Why did Stewart reject Stride? Did he suggest a suspect (Kidney?)?
          Amitiés,
          David
          Stewart Opens his Stride chapter with -

"While there is not a shred of evidence to support the belief that Elizabeth Stride was murdered by the Ripper this murder is included, for, like that of Martha Tabram, no account of the East End murders would be complete without it.