X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• organs

Hello everybody,

I have some question about the removed organs and mutilations:
    did the stomach still attached to the intestins? it's not so clear for me on the coroner's report.
    JTR made hole/holes through the ribs or between the ribs. Are there some cuts? To see the lung? To take the heart? It's not clear as I'm not a doctor, and I'm French...
    how JTR removed the heart?
    Did he try to 'check' the lungs by destroying the right one? Or it was just accidental or violent purposeless action?

Mmmh I hope nobody is eating while reading this post!
    Bye
    Thehood

Hello The Hood ,

Yes, the stomach was still attached to the intestines.

The interesting thing regarding the removal of the heart was that the killer had opened the pericardium ( the membrane sac that encloses the heart ) and taken out the heart. Possibly another indication of some basic anatomical knowledge ?

I believe the lung was collatoral damage, however I`m sure all aspects of the "operation" was of great fascination and interest to our boy.

Comment

Hi, The Hood.

Dr Bond refers to the "remains of the stomach still attached to the intestines", which almost certainly means that the stomach had been partly cut and that only a portion of it was still attached to the intestines (the other part presumably being attached to the oesophagus). The fact that bits of a partly-digested meal was found in the abdominal cavity indicates that the stomach had been cut or split open, and that its contents had spilled out onto what was left of Mary's abdomen.
      Kind regards, Sam Flynn

"Suche Nullen" (Nietzsche, Götzendämmerung, 1888)

Comment

Hi Jon,

The pericardium might simply have been cut in order to allow the killer to get at the heart and pull it out. The fact that he found a way around this obstacle doesn't necessarily imply he had foreknowledge that the obstacle would be there.
        Kind regards, Sam Flynn

Comment

Hello Sam