Julius Lipman - a little more info

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Julius Lipman - a little more info

All accounts I have seen to date about the death of Lipman in 1900, whether in the UK or abroad, were practically verbatim versions of the same account.
    The article, below, however, contains some claims that I had not seen before
    Chris

Hampshire Telegraph
    20 October 1900

NOT JACK THE RIPPER
    A man named Julius Lipman has just died in the East End of drink, neglect, and semi starvation.
    He was a cobbler by trade, and was known as "Leather Apron." He fell under suspicion of being Jack the Ripper, and although he completely proved his innocence the stigma never quite left him and his business dwindled away.
    Lipman was peculiarly unfortunate in the matter. "Leather Apron" as a possible Jack the Ripper was invented by an imaginative journalist on a sensational paper. He did not suspect for a moment that there was a real man in the district known by that name.

I am becoming more intrigued by the idea that the Julius Lipman mentioned in 1900 was in fact John Pizer. The facts as stated regarding Leather Apron obviously apply to Pizer, and it may well be significant that a John Pizer died in the 3rd quarter (July to september) of 1900. The main difference is that this John Pizer's death was registered in Grantham, Lincolnshire and not in the East End. His age at death is given as 67, so at the time of the murders he would have been about 55 years of age.
    Chris

Comment

Originally posted by Chris Scott View Post