Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions

Hi i am new to this.

I have always been interested with the ripper case and found it fascinating.

I was going on holiday and wanted to bring a book with me so i visited amazon and purchased "The mammoth book of jack the ripper key new theories, complete chronology,comprehensive a-z, essential documents, full bibliogrpahy edited by maxim jakubowski and nathan braund" this book gave me a far grater insight and knowledge of the subject.

So as you are all big Ripperologists i guess you could answer me some questions.

why was there only photographs only taken of the body at the scene of the crime in the last and not any of the others?

why where the police so laid back in finding or preventing the killer striking?

I live in london and have visited the London dungeons which have a whole exhibitions of the ripper and they mention one suspect fled to America, did they ever track him down ?

Final question is how comes there is such a big following of ripperologists in America? are the crimes well documented there ?

Thank you for your time and i hope to speak soon

Hi JTR5,

The reason why Mary Kelly is, as far as we know, the only Ripper victim who had photos taken of her at the scene of her murder is because she was the only one found indoors. On top of that, most of the rest were also found in the middle of the night, which would have made trying to take a photo that much more complicated.

I don't think it's fair to say the police were actually laid back. I'm not sure what they could have done differently. What would you have recommended they do?

The one who fled to America was Dr. Tumblety. There's more info on him under the "Suspects" page on this site.

As far as American interest, I suspect that the percentage of people interested in Jack the Ripper is actually lower in America than in England, but the US has about five times the total population of the UK, so it adds up fast.

Dan Norder