Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mary Pearcey Trial - Old Bailey

Here is the Trial of Mary Pearcey:

A searchable online edition of the Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913.

Pay close attention as a certain Dr Thomas Bond makes an appearance and what he says makes me think that he was no dummy. His testimony reads somewhat like a modern CSI script.

I read Bond's testimony and he does sound like he knows what is going on.
    But the site of the Hogg murder in Mrs. Pearcey's kitchen is far more centralized than the five or so different murder sites in the Whitechapel case.
    Bond could easily be more authoratative here.

I also noticed that the marriage of Frank and Phoebe Hogg occurred in November 1888 - which was a notable month for other reasons. One wonders if Mrs. Pearcey, her victim, and Frank discussed what happened at Miller's Court.

Jeff

Comment

Old Bailey Trial Transcrips

Hi guys,

I'm a writer working on a book about Mary Pearcey and was wondering why you thought the November date was significant?

Do you have any other information or insight or links to information about Dr. Bond?

Thanks - Sarah Beth

Comment

The Casebook has some information on Dr. Bond, but I don't know where else you could look. Some of our 'regulars' know all the crime sources. November 9. 1888 was the last Ripper murder (Mary Jane Kelly). A couple of murders over the winter were ascribed to Jack the Ripper, but they lacked the characteristic style. Go through all the files on the top left-hand of your screen. There is a good basic overview of the events, plus many interesting dissertations on various aspects/opinions. Get immersed in East End culture of that time.

Good luck on the book!
        Last edited by Pippin Joan; 12-03-2008, 04:49 AM.
        Joan

I ain't no student of ancient culture. Before I talk, I should read a book. -- The B52s

Comment

Hi sbhopton,

Please PM me by clicking my name at the head of this post.

Thanks,

JM

Comment