MJK's Body Identification?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MJK's Body Identification?

Hello All. I'm relatively new to the case and I have a question that I can't seem to find the answer to. It sort of breaks into parts (depending on how much information is available) like so:

1. Did the police bother to try and have someone say that the body found in MJK's room was definitely Mary Jane Kelly?
    2. Would someone have been able to identify her, despite all the mutilation of her face?
    3. If someone did identify the body, who was it?
    4. What evidence is there that the body is in fact Mary Kelly's? Other than the fact that it was in her room and matched her general description, of course.
    5. If no one here has a definitive answer to these questions, where should I start looking for them? How does one even find police records from that time?

Thank you all in advance, and I'm sorry if this is something that has a really obvious answer that I'm just too much of a noob to find.

Hi ZadieWey and welcome,

Don't worry about asking questions. Personally, I've found fellow posters incredibly helpful, even when I disagree with their conclusions!

Mary was identified by her ex defacto, Joseph Barnett. He and Mary had met in April 1887 and lived together from then at various addresses around the East End until the end of October 1888, when there was a quarrel over Mary allowing friends who worked as prostitutes to share her room. They then parted.

After Mary's body was discovered Barnett was traced and held by the police, who questioned him for several hours, and examined his clothing. He was then cleared by them and after Mary's body was removed from Millers Court to Shoreditch Mortuary he was taken there to see if he could identify her.