Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Saying Hello & Question About Documents

Hello,

My name is Justin. I'm a graduate student at Edinboro University of Pennsylvania and have just begun researching Jack the Ripper for my thesis paper. I do not know much about the topic other than the basic details. I am currently reading the Complete History of Jack the Ripper by Philip Sudgen and have a few others books waiting for me to crack open (The Complete Jack the Ripper by Donald Rumbelow, Jack the Ripper: The Uncensored Facts by Paul Begg, and The Jack the Ripper A to Z). I had a question about some of the original documents. I requested quotes from the National Archives for the MEPO and HO files, but they quoted each one at a hundred dollars or more. I live in America, so there is no way for me to get to the archives myself (at least not anytime soon). I was curious if anyone knew where I could find the digital copies - either for free or cheaper. I'm a student so funds are limited.

If anyone knows where I can find copies of these documents online or can forward them to me, then please let me know. Other than that, I am happy to be here and ready to learn. I probably won't post too often at first. I need to dive deeper into the material first.

Thanks,
    - Justin

The Ultimate Jack the Ripper Companion

Hello Justin. Welcome to the boards!

Some of the material you seek may be in Evans and Skinner's "The Ultimate Jack the Ripper Companion." If you are serious about the case, it is indispensable.

Good luck with the thesis.

Cheers.
    LC

Comment

Thanks for the recommendation. I'll pick that up. I would really like a copy of the source material though as well. So if anyone else knows where I can get those, then please let me know. I want to use as many primary sources as I can.

Comment

Hi Justin,