Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What "Evidence" Could I Use In A Lesson?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What "Evidence" Could I Use In A Lesson?

Hello everyone,

One reason I joined this forum, as well as my interest in the case and a family connection to Whitechapel, is that I'm a History teacher.

Over the past few years I've been working on a little mini-project that my students undertake. The Ripper suits this very well - History is about argument construction and evidence use, and there's no "wrong answer" per se, just answers that aren't supported particularly well (if at all.) What better way to explore that, than in a topic with no universally acknowledged answer?

The project involves students being given the rudiments of the Ripper killings (I provide the details in a slightly altered form, as I'll mention below), and some details about Whitechapel generally. They then have to decide a motive for the killing (and the only two they're allowed is that either prostitutes are easy targets, or that JtR was "down on whores".) Then they get the text of the three letters that generate the most interest to those who study the case - Dear Boss, Saucy Jack and From Hell. From these they begin to establish what kind of an individual they think the killer was. Then they get evidence, and witness statements, judge their reliability, and then ultimately are handed a list of 12 potential suspects, from which they pick the one most likely based on what they've argued from the evidence. Overall, it's quite fun, and it's open to numerous different conclusions.