Please Help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please Help!

Hi, I'm new here and I'm a Grade 12 History student.

I need to know: are the five women listed in this forum the only confirmed victims? Or are there other confirmed ones?

I am writing a rather large essay on Jack the Ripper and I came across this site. I am very confused by the books and such I have come across and I was hoping to find experitise on this subject.

Can anyone help?

Hi rdg,

Confirmed? I would say those five are generally agreed on. There has been a lot of discussion as to just which ones, but for your purposes of writing a clear essay and getting an A I would stick with those 5.

Roy
    Sink the Bismark

Comment

Thank you, Roy. This helps greatly.

Comment

Its a hotly debated subject but I would agree with Roy simply to avoid confusion.

Those five were investigated at the time as victims.
        Monty

https://forum.casebook.org/core/imag...t/evilgrin.gif

Author of Capturing Jack the Ripper.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/1445621622

Comment

RDG, it's all a bit difficult and confusing...

There are the Whitechapel Murders (from April 1888 - February 1891) and then there's the Jack the Ripper Murders (from August 1888 - November 1888).

Different sources at the time were linking one murder to another and, of course, because no one was ever brought to trial we'll never know how many were killed by our man.

The five you are probably best suited to focussing on are indeed generally regarded by most people as being the victims of Jack the Ripper. That doesn't mean that they ARE, and, in fact, some people these days think that only three of them (Polly Nichols, Annie Chapman and Catherine Eddowes) can definitely be said to be the work of the same killer.

The reason that most people name five is because that was the opinion of Sir Melville Macnaghten in the 1890s and his suggestion has stuck, presumably because of the weight of his authority.