Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New arrival from Sweden (Birthplace of "Long Liz")

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New arrival from Sweden (Birthplace of "Long Liz")

Hello! The guidelines say "If you would like to introduce yourself, do so in the Pub Talk forum", so here I am. Much thanks for the administrators for letting me in.

I'm Anton, and as my username indicates I am a Swedish archaeologist (although, ever since I specialized in historical archaeology, my employment seems to be mainly as an archival researcher...). I live in Gothenburg, but was born and raised in Uddevalla, along the western coast in the province of Bohuslän. My main area of research is the 18th century herring industry, but I've worked with everything from Neolithic villages and Finnish Viking Age feast-halls to early medieval Christian cemeteries and World War 2-era military sites.

I have a Bachelor's Degree in my subject, halfway through my Master's at the moment, which I'm pursuing alongside professional, project-based employment at various museums and commercial companies, as well as volunteering in several historical societies. My interests are, well, rather vague and generic, beyond my research - travelling, maybe (I've been to North Korea/the DPRK, in 2013, among other more odd places).