• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Photograph of Mary Ann Nichols

Reported Photo of Mary Ann

Photo circulated via twitter @The-East-End

Apologies if repeated post.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by wolfie1; 01-14-2015, 01:50 PM.

Judging by the shape of the upper sleeves it looks like it is a photo of someone taken in the early 1890's. There's also a quantity of machine-made lace on the bodice that is more 1890's than late 1880's.

So, for me, sorry, nice try but no cigar to the person who tweeted it.

Comment

I believe that photo has been circulating for awhile, but I cannot make any comment as to its provenance.

Comment

I am not an expert on Victorian fashions, but I do know a bit from years of attempting to date family history photos.

The sleeves appear to be the popular "leg o' mutton" style, which came into fashion in the early 1890s.

Even if this is a very early example of this style, I doubt that someone of Mary Ann Nichol's social status could have afforded to buy such a fashionable piece of clothing until second hand examples became available, ie a good few years into the trend.

I therefore am pretty sure this image could not have been taken in or before 1888.

Comment

'

I wish the photo was a bit clearer. It's refreshing that someone is trying to get Mary Ann some recognition and not another tired attempt at a Mary Jane Kelly photo.

Is it just a play of the light, or is this lady wearing a monocle?

Comment

Well I guess I'm way off course here but she looks like a housemaid wearing a pinny. Very much doubt if it's Polly.

Comment

Originally posted by Robert View Post
              . Very much doubt if it's Polly.
              Looks more like Stan Laurel in drag.
              allisvanityandvexationofspirit

Comment