Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Life in 1888

Hi,

First time poster, but I have been interested in JTR since watching the Michael Caine and Lewis Collins mini-series and Time after Time about H.G Wells chasing JTR across time, when i was a kid.

I am a published writer and I am researching a fictional story that I am thinking about writing about JTR involving demons, possession etc.

I want the atmosphere to be as authentic as possible about life in the East End in 1888, I have the following books including:
    The People of the Abyss by Jack London
    Jack the Ripper and the East End
    The Worst Street in London

Any other books people could recommend about life in the East End at that time?

Note: I apologise for putting this in the wrong section I have just realised it should be in non-fiction. Moral of the story is don't drink wine during Sunday lunch.

Cheers
    Last edited by Det_Adams; 09-14-2014, 11:00 AM.

Hello there. I joined this forum recently for the same reasons. I am currently writing a fiction about the Automn of Terror, but I take a different angle than yours. I look at it more like what James Ellroy did with the JFK assassination in American Tabloid. I wish I as talented as Ellroy...

So far, these books have helped me a lot (with those you already have at your disposal)

Jack the Ripper and the London Press, by L Perry jr
    1888 The London murders in the year of the ripper, by Peter Stubley

You can also look at the Twitter feed @WChapelRealTime: it's from a London historic society who, in 2013, recreated the timeline as if Twitter existed.

if you want to go throught the esoteric lane, you might want to look at the occult people of the time, there is a document by Aleister Crowley.

There is also plenty of stuff on this website itself.
    If you speak French, I also recommend
    Retour à Whitechapel. A 50/50 fiction about someone tracking Jack's accomplice.
    (Michel Moatti)