Trowbridge Letter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trowbridge Letter

I remember there being a letter from Trowbridge sugesting one of the policemen should be a suspect?
    Has anyone any info on this letter?

Re: Trowbridge letter
    I don't have details of the letter but two interesting connections
    Trowbridge is in Wiltshire and
    1) William Perkins, surgeon, a medical officer at the Infirmary in Baker's Row was from the town and
    2) Druitt played cricket there in 1885
    see http://forum.casebook.org/showthread.php?t=666

Comment

A Letter From Trowbridge

Originally posted by mrwoo View Post
      I remember there being a letter from Trowbridge sugesting one of the policemen should be a suspect?
      Has anyone any info on this letter?
      This letter was dated 15 October 1888 and suggested PC Watkins as a suspect. The City letters reference is 3.18 No. 215.
      SPE

Treat me gently I'm a newbie.

Comment

Stewart, how can I get to see a copy of this letter? I think it was on here some time ago?

Comment

Text?

Originally posted by mrwoo View Post
          Stewart, how can I get to see a copy of this letter? I think it was on here some time ago?
          The text or the actual letter?
          SPE

Comment

Envelope

The Trowbridge letter was unsigned and addressed to the Metropolitan Police but as Watkins was a City PC the letter was forwarded to the City Police after being read by Swanson. Here is the envelope with the Trowbridge postmark -

Click image for larger version

Name:	trowbridgeenv.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	157.3 KB
ID:	653815

Looking at the postmark I'm not so sure that it isn't 13 October, but the City date stamp is 15 October.
            Last edited by Stewart P Evans; 05-22-2008, 01:21 AM.
            SPE

Comment

Stewart,

Any chance you could post the text of the letter or a scan?

Thanks.

Comment

Wish

Originally posted by aspallek View Post
                Stewart,