Casebook: Jack the Ripper - Main
   

Introduction
Victims
Suspects
Witnesses
Ripper Letters
Police Officials
Official Documents
Press Reports
Victorian London
Message Boards
Ripper Media
Authors
Dissertations
Timelines
Games & Diversions
Photo Archive
Ripper Wiki
Casebook Examiner
Ripper Podcast
About the Casebook

Most Recent Posts:
Kosminski, Aaron: My theory on Kosminski - by Jeff Leahy 18 minutes ago.
Doctors and Coroners: Baxter's influence on Ripper lore - by DJA 25 minutes ago.
Doctors and Coroners: Baxter's influence on Ripper lore - by Sam Flynn 53 minutes ago.
General Suspect Discussion: Kosminski/Kaminsky - please debunk - by DirectorDave 1 hour and 10 minutes ago.
General Suspect Discussion: Kosminski/Kaminsky - please debunk - by John Wheat 1 hour and 18 minutes ago.
Doctors and Coroners: Baxter's influence on Ripper lore - by Sam Flynn 1 hour and 19 minutes ago.

Most Popular Threads:
Doctors and Coroners: Baxter's influence on Ripper lore - (14 posts)
General Suspect Discussion: Kosminski/Kaminsky - please debunk - (9 posts)
Kosminski, Aaron: My theory on Kosminski - (6 posts)
Shades of Whitechapel: Caught!? Long Island Serial Killer suspect - (5 posts)
Non-Fiction: Elizabeth Stride and Jack the Ripper: The Life and Death of the Reputed Third Victim. - (3 posts)
Levy, Jacob: Jacob Levy - (2 posts)

Wiki Updates:
Robert Sagar
Edit: Chris
May 9, 2015, 12:32 am
Online newspaper archives
Edit: Chris
Nov 26, 2014, 10:25 am
Joseph Lawende
Edit: Chris
Mar 9, 2014, 10:12 am
Miscellaneous research resources
Edit: Chris
Feb 13, 2014, 9:28 am
Charles Cross
Edit: John Bennett
Sep 4, 2013, 8:20 pm

Most Recent Blogs:
Mike Covell: A DECADE IN THE MAKING.
February 19, 2016, 11:12 am.
Chris George: RipperCon in Baltimore, April 8-10, 2016
February 10, 2016, 2:55 pm.
Mike Covell: Hull Prison Visit
October 10, 2015, 8:04 am.
Mike Covell: NEW ADVENTURES IN RESEARCH
August 9, 2015, 3:10 am.
Mike Covell: UPDDATES FOR THE PAST 11 MONTHS
November 14, 2014, 10:02 am.
Mike Covell: Mike’s Book Releases
March 17, 2014, 3:18 am.

Go Back   Casebook Forums > Ripper Media > Books > Ripper Authors

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2014, 06:58 PM
bladen7273. bladen7273. is offline
Cadet
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 26
Default Victor Stapleton book

Hello,

There is a new book coming out in October by Victor Stapleton simply titled Jack the Ripper. Is anyone familiar with Victor Stapleton? I haven't heard anything about him, and was curious to know if his book will be any good.
Quick reply to this message Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2014, 07:20 PM
GUT GUT is offline
Commisioner
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: I come from a land Down Under
Posts: 7,173
Default

I really don't know much about hm, but I do find it interesting that he devotes a chapter to "Copy Cats" it will be interesting, to say the least, which crimes he attributes to Jack and which he says are copies.

And boy he has studied it since 1988 so must have all the answers.
__________________
G U T

There are two ways to be fooled, one is to believe what isn't true, the other is to refuse to believe that which is true.
Quick reply to this message Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2014, 08:01 PM
bladen7273. bladen7273. is offline
Cadet
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 26
Default

I agree GUT. I'm curious as to the copy cat idea myself. Maybe he will have some fresh ideas!

You're right, since he has been studying it for that long he has to know all the answers!
Quick reply to this message Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2014, 06:15 AM
Victor Stapleton Victor Stapleton is offline
Cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Default Jack the Ripper: The Murders, the Mystery, the Myth

Many thanks for the interest folks. The book's full title is 'JTR: The Murders, the Mystery, the Myth' and it is in the tradition of Robin Odell's 'Jack the Ripper in Fact and Fiction' -i.e. it explores the ways in which the JTR story has been retold through time as if it were a tale of Gothic fiction or melodrama (Jekyll and Hyde; Dracula; Picture of Dorian Gray etc). The earlier part of the book is also a whistle-stop tour of the facts, the suspects of the day and the suspects of today.

There seems to be other work of this kind going on at the moment: I see the British Library has just launched a new exhibition on the Gothic and they include the original 'Dear Boss' letter as a key exhibit. I shall definitely be going along to see that. There's also a new documentary about the Gothic tradition starting on UK's BBC4 tomorrow: http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/lat.../gothic-season

Thanks again for the interest.
All best,
VS
Quick reply to this message Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2014, 06:29 AM
bladen7273. bladen7273. is offline
Cadet
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 26
Default

Hello, and welcome to the site.

I look forward to reading your book. I try to read most anything about the Ripper that I can get my hands on. How did you get involved with writing a book about this subject? There are so many books out today about Jack the Ripper, in your opinion what will make yours stand apart from the others?

Carl
Quick reply to this message Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2014, 08:08 AM
Victor Stapleton Victor Stapleton is offline
Cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Many thanks Carl, the book's in a series called 'Dramatis Personae' which focuses on characters who blur the fact/fiction divide - like Sherlock Holmes, JTR, or going further back, Robin Hood or Dick Turpin. So that's the particular angle the book takes, along with a short overview of the key facts and state of the field to date.

Osprey publishing is based in Oxford where I've done some teaching on Gothic fiction and JTR over the years. There's a couple of books that have really inspired me in this approach - Christopher Frayling's 'Nightmare: the Birth of Horror' (1996) and Lucy Worsley's more recent 'A Very British Murder' (2013). Both much recommended.

Thanks again and hope all's well in Athens, GA - must be warmer this time of year than the UK I suspect!
All best,
VS
Quick reply to this message Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-19-2014, 10:07 AM
bladen7273. bladen7273. is offline
Cadet
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 26
Default

Mr. Stapleton,

Thanks for responding. I am really looking forward to reading your book. I already have it pre-ordered and should be receiving it tomorrow.

Not that my opinion matters, but I will let you know what I think as soon as I read it.

I wish you the best of luck and success with your book.

Carl

By the way...the weather is absolutely beautiful here right now. It is between 70 and 80 degrees with a cool breeze.
Quick reply to this message Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-21-2014, 06:57 AM
Victor Stapleton Victor Stapleton is offline
Cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Many thanks Carl, your opinion very much matters so thanks for your thoughts and interest, much appreciated.

All good wishes,
VS
Quick reply to this message Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.