Which newspaper published it first?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which newspaper published it first?

I am not familiar with the London newspaper of the time. So, I'd like to know, which newspaper would have published the Nichols' murder first on August 31st?

From the this fine website I gathered 4 of them published something in London on the 31st:

The Echo
    The Pall Mall Gazette
    The Evening News
    The Star (4th edition)

For a timeline in a fiction purpose, I'd like to know which of this newspaper was available first during that day.

Thank you.
    Is it progress when a cannibal uses a fork?
    - Stanislaw Jerzy Lee

I think that those are all evening papers and so would have hit the streets between 4 and 4:30 in the afternoon on the 31st. Which one actually landed first would be down to a handful of minutes and probably varied every day.

I wait to be corrected as I'm not an expert.

Edit- The 4th edition of The Star would have been later in the evening (after a second and third edition) than the first edition of any of the other evening newspapers.

JM
    Last edited by jmenges; 10-31-2015, 03:55 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by jmenges View Post
      I think that those are all evening papers and so would have hit the streets between 4 and 4:30 in the afternoon on the 31st.
      JM
      Thanks. So the Star, 4th edition wouldn't be the first.

I need to know which article to borrow from for a fiction.
      Last edited by SirJohnFalstaff; 10-31-2015, 06:16 PM.
      - Stanislaw Jerzy Lee

Comment

Don't know if this helps but the second edition of the Globe of 31 August 1888 was timed at 12.30pm (but would have been on the streets a bit later than this) and carried the following Central News report:

"SECOND EDITION
        GLOBE OFFICE, 367, Strand, 12.30 p.m.
        ANOTHER WHITECHAPEL MYSTERY
        BRUTAL MURDER OF A WOMAN