IWEC members

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IWEC members

I've just knocked up a quick list of people reported as members or employees of the International Workingmen's Educational Club which I thought might be of use. Please feel free to point out any errors, or add names, details, sources etc

Members of the International Workingmen's Educational Club in Berner Street;

William West (Wess)
    Printer by trade
    40 Berner St (in one of the houses on right? of gate)
    Inquest witness

Morris Eagle (Siegel)
    Traveller in jewellery
    4 New Road, Commercial Road
    Inquest witness

Louis Diemschutz (Lewis Diemschitz)
    Club Steward & traveller in jewellery
    40 Berner Street
    Inquest witness

Mrs ? Diemschutz
    Helped her husband manage the club

Philip Krantz
    Editor (Worker's Friend)
    40 Berner St
    Inquest witness

Isaac Kozebrodsky (Kozebrodski, "Isaacs")
    Address unknown

Joseph Lave
    A Russian, recently arrived from America and staying at the club.

Julius Minsky
    Club member
    Daily News 2nd Oct
    Corroborated general details

Mila
    Club servant
    Daily News 2nd Oct
    Strongly corroborated Mrs Diemschutz' evidence.

Gilleman
    Club member
    Mentioned by Eagle in his evidence as having told him of the body.

Julius Minsky details 1891 census

Julius Minsky born 1869 Sewalk Russia. Tailors Presser, living at 175 Brady Buildings MEOT. with relatives Haris (cigar maker) and Nellie Schwalb and family.
    Pat ....

Comment

Thanks Paddy! Only 19 eh? Some of these working men seem like they should be still at school. But then, I guess it was an Educational club too.

Comment

Living in Stable Yard no 40 Berner Street 1891 census

In The Yard
        Abraham Silberman Fancy Purse Maker and wife with 2 children Warsaw
        (came to england within last4 years according to childrens birthplace)
        Abraham Margolava 21 Lodger Purse Maker b Warsaw