Dorset Street

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dorset Street

This may have been posted before and I apologise as I am new to this and maybe raking over old ground.

I am on google earth trying to locate Dorset Street. I think I have found it as an alleyway behind whites row, seperating whites row and Brushfield Street.

Am I close? Can anybody please confirm.

Ta Muchness
    Living the Dream!

Hello revpetero.

You are correct, though I feel the term 'alleyway' is a little tough as the street (which is now an unnamed private access road) is quite wide.

The original line of Dorset/Duval Street has been slightly shifted. The demolition of the north side (1928) widened it considerably. The south side was demolished in the mid 1960s and the car park erected a few years later, after 1969 I believe. This narrowed it again.

Hope this helps.

JB

Comment

Thanks,

On google earth I can only make it out from above and cant really judge the width. From the height i first looked it was unnoticable.

Sorry and didn't mean to show unwarrented disregard
      Living the Dream!

Comment

No worries,

Google Earth shows many locations at a slight angle, so getting a handle on the widths of thoroughfares can be tricky.

Anyhow, glad you found it!! I first went there in 1982 and because it didn't have the street name on it I was totally flummoxed. Not a clue!

Incidentally, because the street line has shifted since 1888, we can now stand on the spot where Mary Kelly was discovered.

Regards
        JB

Comment

Hi revpetero

Yep John's right- the old layout of the street takes a lot of imagination these days The car park building and all the rest have widened the old Dorset Street more than likely by half as much again.Here's a pic (not a brilliant one sorry!) of what you see today and an approximation of where No 13 was!
          Click image for larger version

Name:	ds ish.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	65.9 KB
ID:	653765

Suzi x